Skip to content

ABOUT US   |    CONTACT   |   JOIN THE UPDATE LIST   |   

GET INVOLVED!

JOIN THE GOOGLE GROUP

To keep up-to-date, join our email group list by sending an email to KeepOldHardyPublic+Subscribe@googlegroups.com

 

ADD YOUR NAME TO THE CAUSE

To learn more or to join your name to the list of community members who want to Keep Old Hardy Public, email us at KeepOldHardyPublic@gmail.com – be sure to include your full name.

GET A YARD SIGN FOR YOUR HOME

Email us at KeepOldHardyPublic@gmail.com  to get a sign. If you include your address we'll deliver it to you!

 

FOLLOW @KEEPHARDY ON TWITTER

1. Support our cause by following us on Twitter @KeepHardy

2. If you see a post you like please “like” and “retweet

3. If you are involved in any activities promoting Keep Old Hardy Public, post on your Twitter feed and tag @KeepHardy. Photos are especially helpful after a productive meeting or event.

4. If you post something you want a Council Member or the Mayor to see, be sure to tag them.

5. Always end posts with #KeepOldHardyPublic

6. If you want @KeepHardy to post something,  email Tricia Duncan at triduncan05@gmail.com, or DM her to @KeepHardy

Contact our Elected Officials

Ultimately, the fate of the old Hardy School will be determined by our elected officials. Any disposition has to be approved by the Mayor and the DC Council. If regular order is followed the matter will be handled by the Education Committee and the Committee on Facilities and Procurement of the Council, and then approved by the entire Council.

While every Councilmember will ultimately vote, the key points of contact are members of those two committees, your ward representative, and the at-large members of the Council, including the Chair. During the process there will be public meetings. It's essential we come out to the public meetings to stay informed and to show support for our community.

Make your voice heard! Let our elected officials know that you care about the overcrowding of public education in Ward 3 and that the Old Hardy School building needs to be considered as part of the solution.

 

EXECUTIVE BRANCH

Mayor Bowser, Muriel.bowser@dc.gov

Deputy Mayor for Education, Paul Kihn, Paul.Kihn@dc.gov

 

LEGISLATIVE BRANCH

Ward 3 Representatives:

DC Council -- Mary Cheh, MCheh@dccouncil.us

School Board -- Ruth Wattenberg, ruth.wattenberg@dc.gov

Education Committee of the Council:

David Grosso (chair), dgrosso@dccouncil.us

Charles Allen, callen@dccouncil.us

Anita Bonds, abonds@dccouncil.us

Robert White (see below)

Trayon White, twhite@dccouncil.us

Committee on Facilities and Procurement:

Robert White (chair) , rwhite@DCCOUNCIL.US

Jack Evans, jevans@dccouncil.us

Vincent Gray, vgray@dccouncil.us

Council Chair:

Phil Mendelson, pmendelson@dccouncil.us

At-Large Members of the Council:

Elissa Silverman, esilverman@dccouncil.us

(Robert White, Anita Bonds and David Grosso are listed above in their respective committees)